Investment Committee

The PSP Board (Board) established an Investment Committee (IC) comprised of all six members of the Board and up to three external investment or finance professionals chosen for their expertise in investments. The IC assists the Board in:

  • monitoring and reviewing the investment performance of the PSPP fund;
  • reviewing each component of the PSPP fund periodically;
  • monitoring investments for compliance with the Board’s policies and applicable laws and regulations; and
  • undertaking special studies as requested by the Board, including periodic asset-liability studies.

The IC also advises and makes recommendations to the Board on:

  • investment policy (annually);
  • recruitment and selection of external IC members;
  • asset mix policy and ranges;
  • applicable agreements with Alberta Investment Management Corporation (AIMCo) and/or Alberta Treasury Board and Finance; and
  • any investment-related matters as requested by the Board or deemed appropriate by the IC.

The Chair of the IC is elected by the Board and must be a member of the Board. 

External IC Members

The Board recruits and appoints external IC members using an open and skills-based recruitment process to fill vacancies. External members are selected based on their senior level of experience in and knowledge of institutional investments, risk management, and pension governance and funding.

Up to three external members are appointed to the IC by the Board for a two- or three-year term. External IC members may serve on the IC for up to a maximum of ten consecutive years. Their performance is evaluated by the Board annually.

Janet Julé

Janet is the Chief Investment Officer for Saskatchewan Healthcare Employees’ Pension Plan. She brings 30 years of investment-related experience, including over 20 years in investment consulting prior to her current role, most recently with Aon Hewitt. Janet was also consultant and director with Crown Investments Corporation of Saskatchewan.

Janet has a B. Admin from the University of Regina majoring in Accounting and Finance, is a CPA, CMA, and Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA). She also holds the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Janet is active in the pension community including the Pension Investment Association of Canada, and is currently serving as committee chair for the organization’s internal newsletter. She joined the Investment Committee in December 2016.

Wesley Peters

Wes is Vice President Investments at the Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company where he manages the Insurance Company’s investments and investments for the Company’s Canadian and US employees’ defined benefit pension plans. He is a Board Member, Governance Committee member, and past chair of the Investment Committee of the Calgary Foundation.

Prior to joining Wawanesa, Wes managed pension investments for Canadian Pacific Railway and then for the Saskatchewan Teachers. He is a former Mercer consultant, past president of the Calgary CFA Society, and was Superintendent of Pensions for Manitoba.

Wes has a B.Comm (Hons) from the University of Manitoba majoring in actuarial mathematics, and is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA).

He joined the Investment Committee in January 2018.

Louise Poirier-Landry

Louise is an executive, with more than 35 years of national and international experience in finance, investment/portfolio management, pension, risk management and governance. She has held senior-level investment positions at organizations such as AXA Canada, Standard Life, and Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec.

Louise has served on a number of boards and committees, including the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, and N45, the first Canadian issuer of commercial mortgage-backed securities. Louise is also a member of the Quebec Financial Women’s Association. She joined the Investment Committee in May 2018.

Louise holds a Bachelor of Economics and a Master of Economics from the University of Montreal. She also earned the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.